Factfile: Exmouth Town

Exmouth Town is a professional football club that is based in the town of Exmouth, Devon, England who currently competes down in the South West Peninsula League Premier Division.

Founded in 1933, Exmouth Town has been competing in the English Football league for around 87 years. The Western League side currently play their home games at King George V Ground on Southern Road and have done so since moving there in 1964.

The modest-sized ground holds a capacity just shy of 3,000 after their new stand was fitted in 2016.

Stuart Shaw currently sits as the clubs owner and chairman, while the current first-team manager role is split between Kevin Hill and Andy Rawlings.

The entirety of Exmouth Town’s professional career has never seen them gain promotion from the ninth tier of English football due to various regulations that the club can not meet. The western side from Devon currently competes in the South West Peninsula League Premier Division and have done so for six seasons since 2013.

Exmouth Town secured their first South West Penisula League Division One East title during the 2012/13 season. Exmouth came close to winning back-to-back titles in 2013/14 after gaining promotion, however, narrowly lost out after finishing in 2nd place. Exmouth Town spent a few seasons outside of the ninth tier of English football after they suffered relegation from the Exeter & District League in 1957/58.

However, they managed to regain promotion three years later in 1960/61. Exmouth Town recorded their highest ever match attendance back in 1987 when they faced Premier League powerhouses, Liverpool, in a friendly match, which recorded an attendance of 2,395. The western side recorded their best performances in the FA Cup during the seasons of 1988/89 and 1989/90, where they reached the Fourth qualifying rounds.

Exmouth managed to progress to the Semi-Finals of the FA Vase in 1984/85 before unfortunately exiting the cup, while their best performance in the FA Trophy saw them make it to the Preliminary Rounds in 1974/75.

Exmouth Town Honours


League - Western League

● Premier Division champions 1983–84, 1985–86

● Les Phillips Cup winners 1988–89


South West Peninsula League

● Division One East champions 2012–13


Devon Senior Cup

● Winners 1950–51


Devon St Lukes Challenge Cup

● Winners 1984–85, 1988–89, 1989–90


Devon Premier Cup

● Winners 1970–71, 1979–80, 2012–13


East Devon Senior Cup

● Winners 1950–51, 1982–83


Morrison Bell Cup

● Winners 1933–34, 1937–38, 1956–57, 1970–71, 1982–83, 1989–90, 2003–04, 2004–05.


If you’re into your football news get it all on Squawka.

On Air Now Elliot Woodford 4:00pm - 7:00pm
Now Playing
If You Are Lookin' For A Way Out Odyssey Download
Recently Played

Half Price Paulos Circus Tickets


Today's Weather

  • Exmouth

    Light rain shower

    High: 18°C | Low: 10°C

  • Exeter

    Heavy rain shower

    High: 18°C | Low: 10°C

  • Dawlish

    Light rain shower

    High: 18°C | Low: 10°C

  • Torquay

    Light rain shower

    High: 17°C | Low: 10°C

  • Sidmouth

    Light rain shower

    High: 18°C | Low: 10°C

Easy Fundraising

What's On